Egg Cups with Spinach and Cremini Mushrooms

Breakfast during the week is impossible before I leave for work. I’m too busy racing around trying to get everyone dressed and out the door to bother with myself. So breakfast for me is usually whatever I can grab on the way to work (usually a bagel from the coffee shop near where I work) or English muffins with peanut butter that I keep stashed in my desk drawer. If I’m super organized on the weekends, I make mini omelets in muffin tins. We call them egg cups at my house.

It’s not an original idea – I’ve seen tons of recipes for them on Facebook and other food sites I follow. But I try to make them as healthy as possible by skipping the frozen hashbrowns and sausage versions. I usually fill mine up with salsa or sauteed veggies or even just frozen spinach and a little mozzarella. The last few months, I’ve switched from whole eggs to a mixture of egg whites and eggs so they’re a little more healthy.

There’s different ways you can do this: you can put everything in the muffin tin and pour the egg mixture over them or you can whisk everything into the egg mixture and pour it into the muffin tins. I’ve done both. For this recipe, I recommend putting everything in the muffin tins and pouring the egg mixture over it.

Egg Cups with Spinach & Cremini Mushrooms

  • 2 cups egg whites
  • 3 whole eggs
  • Siracha to taste
  • 2-3 cups baby spinach
  • 1 – 1 1/2 jarred roasted red pepper (depends how big the peppers are)
  • 2-3 cremini (baby bella) mushrooms, sliced thin and then chopped
  • half a cup of shredded mozzarella or 3-4 small balls of fresh mozarella
  • 6 strips turkey bacon, sliced and cooked crisp
  • Cooking spray

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 12 cup muffin tin with cooking spray. Fill each muffin tin with spinach so that the spinach covers the bottom and sides (about 1/4 cup each if you need a measurement) – remember that spinach cooks down and what looks like a lot will shrink some. Dice up the roasted red pepper and place over the spinach.

img_2316a

 

Add the mushrooms, mozzarella, and turkey bacon.

img_2319

In a measuring cup, add the egg whites, whole eggs, and siracha. Whisk together, then pour over the spinach mixture in each tin. Do not over fill – you want enough to cover the veggies, but not enough to spill over the top.

img_2320

Bake for 15-20 minutes until eggs are set.

img_2321

If you are doing Weight Watchers, each egg cup is 2 points.

About Kristin

Soccer mom (swimming mom, Cub Scouts mom, PTO mom, pretty much everything mom) just trying to make it in the suburban mommy mafia. I'll cook you a feast, but the clean up's on you. I speak N'Hampsha like a native, but I drive like a Masshole.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, eggs, make ahead and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment