Turkey and Mushroom Bolognese

Eating healthy is hard. Especially when I feel like I’m hard wired to crave chocolate and red meat and salty chip. Indulging sometimes is fine, as long as the portions are under control and I’m not giving into those cravings daily. I know red meat is fatty and cholesterol-y and bad for me in general. When I have recipes that I can swap red meat for something healthier, I do. (Except for steak. I’ll have a steak when I want one, even if it is a small serving.)

Ground turkey can be kind of bland, so it’s important you punch up the flavoring with it as much as possible. I added mushrooms to this because cremini mushrooms will add some texture and earthy flavor that won’t make you miss the red meat portion of this meal. The carrots and onion will add some sweetness. I know that some bolognese sauces now add milk or cream, but I think just using red wine here will give it in enough richness that you don’t need the dairy. If you find this too thick for your tastes, thin out with a little chicken broth.

I made this to serve over spaghetti squash that I roasted in the oven with olive oil, seasoned salt, and pepper.

Turkey and Mushroom Bolognese

  • 1 1/3 lbs lean ground turkey (I used 93/7)
  • 2-3 cups cremini mushrooms, sliced thin
  • 1  1/2 cups finely chopped onions
  • 1 cup finely diced carrot
  • 2 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup red wine (use wine you drink – cooking wine is disgusting)
  • 28 oz can ground, peeled tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 2 tbsp fresh basil
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano

While your spaghetti squash roasts (or your pasta water boils), heat a large wide skillet over medium high heat. Saute your mushrooms until they start to give off liquid, about 5-7 minutes. Add onions and carrots and saute an additional 5 minutes, until the onions are softened but not brown. Add in garlic and stir an additional thirty seconds.

img_2324

img_2314

img_2315

Add the turkey and cook until no longer pink. Stir in tomato paste, then deglaze the pan with red wine, scraping up all the brown bits from the bottom of the pan. Pour in canned tomatoes and let simmer 15-20 minutes on low heat, longer if you’re not in a rush. If you find the sauce too thin, add another tablespoon of tomato paste. Stir in fresh herbs and simmer another 5 minutes.

img_2325img_2326img_2327

If you are doing Weight Watchers, the sauce is 6 points.

img_2329

About Kristin

Soccer mom (swimming mom, Cub Scouts mom, PTO mom, pretty much everything mom) just trying to make it in the suburban mommy mafia. I'll cook you a feast, but the clean up's on you. I speak N'Hampsha like a native, but I drive like a Masshole.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Dinner, Pasta, Turkey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment