Baked Chicken “Cordon Bleu” Roll Ups

Sometimes, I feel like chicken is the scourge of my existence. It’s my main supply of protein and it is endlessly boring. I try to find different ways to cook it, but usually end up with it either stir fried or baked with some kind of seasoning on it.

I had a version of this years ago that I think came from a Weight Watchers cookbook, but I think it used prosciutto and mozzarella. I couldn’t find the recipe again when I wanted it, so I came up with something else. I think the version from before used crush cornflakes instead of breadcrumbs, but that’s actually not very appealing to me. I’ve never like cornflakes unless they have a teaspoon of sugar on them.

I mixed the panko with the regular breadcrumbs, but you could just use one or the other if you have a preference. The chicken I used was already cutlet ready, but you could use regular skinless boneless chicken breasts, just pounded thinner. And the sauce is optional. But I like sauce.

I served this with spaghetti squash that had been roasted in the oven with olive oil and salt and pepper (I also put a little of the sauce over it as well).

Baked Chicken “Cordon Bleu” Roll Ups

  • 1 lb chicken cutlets or boneless skinless chicken breasts pounded 1/2 inch thick
  • 5 slices ham
  • 5 slices swiss cheese
  • 2-3 tbsps dijon mustard, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten with a little water
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 1/2 cups low sodium chicken stock

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Set up a breading station with the eggs and breadcrumbs near where you’re working.

IMG_0667

Place a piece of chicken on wax paper and brush with dijon mustard. Layer with a slice of ham, then a slice of swiss. Brush lightly with dijon (I used about a tablespoon for the whole recipe). Roll the chicken, ham, and cheese into a compact cylinder and secure with a toothpick at the seam.

 

 

Dip the chicken roll into the egg wash, then roll in the breadcrumbs. Place on a baking sheet lined with the foil and sprayed with cooking spray.

IMG_0670

Once all the chicken has been rolled and placed on the sheet, drizzle with olive oil. I used the same brush I used with the dijon to spread the olive oil.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_0675

While the chicken bakes, melt the butter in a small saucepan. Once melted, add the flour and 1-2 tablespoons of dijon mustard. Whisk until combined and the flour is a golden color. Add your chicken stock and continue to whisk (I also added a couple splashes of white wine, but I think sherry would be better here) until the consistency is slightly thicker than gravy.

Serve the sauce over the chicken once it’s out of the oven.

IMG_0676

 

 

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Comfort Food, Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

