Roasted Vegetable Pasta Salad

My friends Andy and Ans host a pot luck party every year. Because winter was so miserable here in the Northeast, they decided that everyone should bring a vegetable focused dish to celebrate spring. I love vegetables. Lately, I’ve been very into big salads with light Italian dressing. There’s something satisfying about the crunch of fresh vegetables.

But the way I like my vegetables best is roasted. So when I was thinking about what to bring to Andy’s and Ans’ this weekend, I thought about the kinds of salads I like. I didn’t want to just bring a garden salad, but I wanted something that I wouldn’t necessarily need to reheat. You can eat pasta salad warm or cold, depending on your taste.

This borrows a bit from the orzo salad I usually make, but not so much that it’s the same recipe.

Roasted Vegetable Pasta Salad

  • 2 medium red onions, quartered
  • 1 large zucchini, halved and sliced (not thinly)
  • 1 large yellow squash, halved and sliced (not thinly)
  • 1 large red pepper, cut into chunks
  • 1 large yellow pepper, cut into chunks
  • 1 package frozen artichoke hearts, thawed, drained and dried
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 tbsp fresh oregano leaves
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely minced
  • 1-2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup baby spinach, cut into ribbons
  • 1 cup kalamata olives, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup crumbled cheese (feta, goat, or blue)
  • 2-3 tbsp red wine vinegar or lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups cooked orzo pasta

Preheat oven to 425.

In a measuring cup or small bowl, whisk together olive oil, thyme & oregano leaves, garlic, lemon zest & juice, and salt and pepper.

Place vegetables in a large mixing bowl or zip lock bag. Pour marinade over veggies and mix well. On a large baking sheet (or two medium ones) lined with aluminium foil and sprayed with non stick cooking spray, spread the vegetables into one layer.

043 045

Roast until vegetables are golden and tender. Usually about 30-45 minutes. Stir once or twice so the vegetables don’t stick to the pan.

046

Cook orzo according to package directions and drain well. In a large bowl, combine orzo and spinach. Once vegetables are done, add to orzo and spinach. Whisk together vinegar/juice and olive oil with salt and pepper to taste. Pour over salad. Add cheese and olives. Serve warm, cold or room temperature.

047  048

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Pasta, Salad, Sides, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

