Vegetable Soup

I’m always looking to expand my repertoire of soups. There’s nothing better in fall and winter than a bowl of warm, comforting soup. I like meat based soups and chilis and stews better than veggie based ones, but sometimes I’m tired of meat. I made a black bean soup in a crock pot one year, but we had so much left over Steve said he never wanted to eat it again. Ina Garten has a to die for potato and leek soup that I love, but it’s so rich and fattening that I only make it when company is coming because the leftovers would raise my cholesterol level for the year.

A few weeks ago I finally had my gallbladder out. Not by choice, unfortunately. A raging infection and gall stones landed me in the ER. It had to come out, so that part was fine. Well, not fine because I had a c section nine weeks prior to that and I don’t recommend major abdominal surgery twice in two months. But while I was home I had a bowl of Progresso’s vegetable soup – low in fat and comforting. It got me thinking how I could make my own with less sodium. I googled a few recipes and I’ve come up with something that I think tastes pretty decent.

Vegetable Soup

  • 3-4 carrots, chopped
  • 3-4 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium zucchini, quartered and sliced
  • 2 medium russet potatoes, diced
  • half a bag frozen green beans
  • 4-6 cups vegetable stock or broth

In a large soup pot over medium high heat, saute onions, carrots, and celery in about a tablespoon of olive oil.

073

Add tomato paste and dried herbs.

074

Stir in zucchini and let soften. Then add potatoes and stir.

075  076

Add frozen green beans and stir. Then add broth. Use enough broth to cover veggies. Bring to a boil, then cover and let simmer until potatoes are tender, but not mushy.

078  079

Serve with crusty bread and a cold glass of wine.

080

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Soup, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

