Chicken Noodle Soup

It’s been a bitterly cold winter here. And even though it’s March, it doesn’t feel like spring will ever come. In fact, we’re being promised another snow storm this week. I’ve had it with winter. I’ve had it with the cold and the snow and the freezing walks to and from my car at work (I park six blocks from my office). I’ve had it with the neverending runny noses and coughs and constant feeling like the cold is into my bones.

But I’m not done with “winter” cooking yet. Soups, stews, hearty meals that make you feel warm inside – that’s winter cooking. I’m limited in some ways on what I can safely eat (thanks, stupid gallbladder), but my chicken soup is heavy on veggies, low on fat, and huge on bright flavor.

I made a similar soup last year, with rice, but this one is a little different. For one thing – egg noodles. For another, I’m cooking the chicken in the soup and using more traditional veggies. And this time, I also included a little (like half a teaspoon) of horseradish because Steve has a vile, vile cold (it might be more than that, but we’ll find out when urgent care opens tomorrow) that needs some clearing out.

The soup doesn’t actually take that long to make and it’s relatively easy to do, even on a weeknight. It makes really good leftovers and it’s hearty enough to serve on its own with some crusty bread.

Chicken Noodle Soup

  • 2-3 large carrots, chopped in bite size pieces
  • 2-3 large stalks of celery, chopped in bite size pieces
  • 1 medium onion, chopped in bite size pieces (all the veggies should be chopped about the same size)
  • 1 lb chicken, cut into bite size pieces (I used thin cut chicken breast cutlets. They cook faster and they’re easier to slice up)
  • 1 tbsp minced, fresh dill
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp prepared horseradish (optional)
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
  • 8 cups low sodium chicken stock or broth
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 6 oz medium egg noodles

In a large soup pot or dutch oven, heat about a tablespoon of olive oil over medium high heat. Add chopped veggies, dill and garlic. Cook until veggies are soft, but not browned. Add horseradish and mustard, if using, and stir.

023 024

Add chicken and stir. Cook until chicken is no longer raw, then add lemon zest and juice and salt and pepper. Pour in chicken stock and bring to a boil. Let simmer, covered, at boil until chicken is cooked through, then uncover and add noodles. Cook 5-7 minutes, uncovered, at boiling until noodles are done.

025 026

Cover and remove from heat. Let sit for five minutes, then serve. It’s perfect for a cold day.

027

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Comfort Food, Dinner, Soup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

