Smoky Turkey Chili

My house has been run by illness lately. Steve had a cold, then it was gone, then it was back, except worse. Thomas has the runny nose that won’t quit and a cough that rattles. Even I didn’t escape it this year, getting a cold that kept me bedridden for a weekend.

I’ve tried chicken soup, but sometimes you need something that just clears you out. Chili is always good for that.

I’ve never cooked with chipotle chiles in adobo before, but I thought this was a good opportunity to try something new. They’re not so much spicy as they are smoky and the heat they leave is different from what I’ve had before. I went easier on the cumin than I might have otherwise.

This is very, very thick chili. If you need to thin it out a little, use a little chicken stock. I used about a quarter of a cup at the end to thin it out a bit.

Smoky Turkey Chili

  • 1/4 lb (about 4 slices) bacon
  • 1 1/3 lb lean ground turkey
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 large red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced (plus a teaspoon of the sauce, more if you want more heat)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 cup frozen corn (I used Trader Joe’s fire roasted corn)
  • 24 oz low sodium tomato sauce
  • 2 15 oz cans of black beans

In a cold pan, cook the bacon over medium heat (I snipped mine into the pan with kitchen shears; you can just chop it on a cutting board). Once bacon is browned, drain some or all of the fat out of the pan. Return bacon to pan and add turkey meat.

028  029

Once turkey meat is partially cooked, add onions, peppers, and garlic. Mince up the chile and add to the pan along with the adobo sauce. Sprinkle oregano and cumin over the mixture.

031 030

Add tomato sauce and corn and let simmer five minutes. Stir in beans. Cover and cook for an additional 15 to 20 minutes. Thin out with chicken stock if necessary and cook another 5.

034

(Note: this was written back in May – I am clearly behind in posting)

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Dinner, Turkey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smoky Turkey Chili

  1. Noticed your post on chili/chilies. I am hosting an Internet Chili Cooking competition and wanted to see if you were interested in participating. Details can be found here: http://rantingchef.com/2014/08/29/announcing-the-diced-chili-cook-off/

Leave a Reply

