Antipasto Pizza

Christmas in my house usually means one thing: lots of Italian food on Christmas Eve. And not just any Italian food – my mom’s Italian food. This year, amongst my mother, sister and I, we made two trays of stuffed shells with meat sauce, risotto, marsala chicken, garlic bread and of course the best thing about Italian food, a huge antipasto.

For those who have never experienced antipasto, it’s the yummiest. Cured meats, cheese, lots of salty, briny olives, marinated artichoke hearts, roasted red peppers and, for the weirdos, anchovies. My in-laws love my mom’s antipasto platter and it’s a great starter for everyone.

This year, I bought a ton of prosciutto, salami, and provolone at the store. There was also hot capicola and sopressata. That I didn’t have an excess of, but I do still have a lot of salami and prosciutto and provolone. I bought another jar of roasted red peppers and marinated artichoke hearts because I planned on making a second antipasto one night just for Steve and me. But as we were talking about what to make for dinner tonight, I thought of something better – take all of that salty, cured goodness and throw it on a pizza. How can you possible go wrong?

I used a premade pizza crust, but you can certainly make your own dough if you’ve got that much ambition. If you have different things you use for your antipasti, include them too.

Serve with a salad dressed with olive oil and vinegar and you’re done.

Antipasto Pizza

  • 1 pizza crust or dough
  • 1/2 cup or less (depends on how saucy you want your pizza) of your favorite tomato or pizza sauce (I like Trader Joe’s for premade sauce)
  • thinly sliced salami, cut into strips
  • thinly sliced prosciutto, cut into strips (although my prosciutto was paper thin so I just tore it apart)
  • thinly sliced provolone, cut into strips
  • 1-2 roasted red peppers, chopped
  • marinated artichoke hearts (4-5 or more depending on how much you love them)
  • anchovies (optional. And only included my sister loves anchovies and she would protest heartily at their exclusion, but no. Just no anchovies for me)
  • Sicilian olives or garlic stuffed olives or kalamata olives (pitted) (also optional. There’s already a lot of sodium on this pizza so if you want less salt, leave off the olives)
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves, torn (optional)

Preheat your oven to whatever temperature your dough needs to cook at. You want your oven nice and warm. If you have a pizza stone, use that instead of a pan.

Spread a layer of sauce over the dough. Slice your cured meats and cheese into strips with kitchen shears. You want enough meat and cheese to cover your pizza, but not so much that it’s too salty. Layer on your meat, then add the roasted peppers and artichoke hearts, then cover with cheese. Sprinkle with basil if using.

DSCN3072 DSCN3073 DSCN3074 DSCN3075 DSCN3076 DSCN3077 DSCN3080

Bake until cheese is melted and slightly brown.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Fast, Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

