Roast Chicken with Vegetables & Pan Sauce

I was browsing through Boston.com at work and saw this recipes as one of the most emailed articles on its page. How does one resist clicking that? And how does one resist making it once you see how easy it is?

You don’t.

The first time I made this, I did as the recipe stated and started to roast the veggies with the chicken, even knowing I was going to have a longer cooking time because I used a bigger chicken. And while it was still divine, some of the veggies were a little too caramelized. So this time around I added the veggies at the same time I added the garlic, about thirty minutes into the process. I also made gravy instead of pan sauce because I cannot resist gravy. With all the bits from the veggies, the gravy was tremendous. I also didn’t feel like I had used enough oil the first time around either (in the pan. I used the perfect amount on the chicken).

Clearly, even though it needed some tweaks, I loved it enough to make it again. More importantly, Steve loved it enough for me to make again.

If you want to follow the recipe exactly, here’s the link: http://www.boston.com/lifestyle/food/articles/2011/07/13/roast_chicken_with_vegetables_and_pan_sauce/?s_campaign=8315

Roast Chicken with Vegetables & Pan Sauce (adapted from Boston.com)

  • 1 roasting chicken, patted dry (they say you shouldn’t rinse chicken any more since it spreads germs, so just pat it dry with a paper towel, the cavity too)
  • 4-5 carrots, peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 8 fingerling potatoes, halved. My grocery store’s fingerlings looked appalling so I used baby yukon golds and they were fine. You may need to quarter them instead of halving them, depending on how big the potatoes are
  • 2 sweet onions, cut into wedges (mine were about eight wedges each)
  • 2-4 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, skin on
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock (I used unsalted and/or low sodium)
  • 1/2 cup good quality white wine (wine you DRINK. Never use cooking wine. It’s gross. Also, you can’t drink cooking wine while you’re cooking because it’s not drinkable and why would you ever cook with wine when you can’t drink it?)
  • 2 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2 sprigs fresh oregano (the first time I made this, I forgot what the second herb was and bought rosemary instead of oregano. Unless you’re passionate about following a recipe to the letter, use whatever herbs you want)
  • 2 sprigs fresh parsley
  • 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

I used a 7lb Purdue Oven Stuffer Roaster, both times I made this – the recipe calls for a 3-4 lb chicken. If you use a smaller chicken than I did, adjust your cooking times. A 3-4 lb chicken at 425 in the oven should take about an hour or a little less. A 7-8 lb chicken at 425 in the oven will take about an hour and a half to two hours. Plan accordingly.

Preheat oven to 425. While preheating, chop your veggies and pat your chicken dry. Rub a tablespoon of olive oil over the chicken and season liberally with salt and pepper. Stuff the cavity with the lemon (full disclosure: I used a whole lemon, not a half) and the fresh herbs (I also used more than 2 sprigs each. I could say it was because I had a bigger chicken than the recipe called for, but that’s a total lie. I just felt like it. So there, recipe).

051  054

Once the oven is ready, put the roasting pan in the oven for three minutes with the remaining oil. The recipe calls for 1 tablespoon, but I’ll be honest with you – I didn’t feel like that was enough the first time I made this. So I used enough oil that when the pan was hot, the oil was able to swirl and coat the bottom of the pan in a very, very thin layer. You will need a roasting pan big enough for the chicken AND the vegetables, but also one that you can use on your stove top.

Add the chicken, breast up, to the pan and scatter your (seasoned with salt and pepper) veggies around it (if you’re using the smaller chicken). Place in the oven for 25-30 minutes. If you’re roasting a larger chicken, after 25 minutes add the veggies to the pan (maybe with a smidge more oil, too) and the garlic, still in their skins. If you’re using a smaller chicken, just add the garlic. Or, toss the veggies with some oil and salt and pepper before you add to the pan. I also chopped some rosemary and thyme and sprinkled that over the veggies this time.

057

Word of caution: When you pull that pan with the oil out of the oven to add the veggies for the larger chicken, it will freaking SMOKE like mad. Olive oil has a high smoke point so it being in the oven for half an hour with nothing in it cooking, it will smoke. Open a window unless you want the smoke alarm going off. Also, the oil could possible spatter as you add the veggies, so be extremely careful.

Roast until a meat thermometer inserted in the thigh reads 165.

Transfer the veggies to a platter and the chicken to a cutting board. Cover the veggies with foil so they don’t get cold. Let the chicken rest for a couple minutes before you carve so the juices don’t get everywhere.

061  059

To the roasting pan, add the chicken stock and wine. Squeeze the garlic out of their skins into the pan. Whisk over medium high heat to get the sauce going, being sure to scrape up any bits along with the bottom because that’s the good stuff. If you’re like me and want something thicker, add flour to the pan before the stock and the wine and the garlic to make a quick roulx. Then, add the liquids and whisk.

Serve sauce over veggies and chicken. Steve had red wine with his dinner, while I helped myself to another glass of white. DIVINE. I’m telling you, you will love this.

Clearly, this was seconds.

Clearly, this was seconds.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

