Roasted Vegetables with Orzo and Lemon-Dijon Vinaigrette

I’m trying to do meatless meals at least once a week. We don’t eat a lot of red meat, but I can only do ground turkey and chicken so many times a week before I’m totally sick of it. I wanted to try doing something vegetarian just for variety.

Last week, I roasted a chicken with carrots, potatoes, and onions (recipe to come when I make it again) and Steve really liked how the carrots came out. Based on that I decided to do roasted vegetables with carrots.

Roasted vegetables are really versatile as leftovers, too. They’re great in a frittata or omelet, if you like eggs. Chop them up fine and used them as a binder in meatloaf instead of an egg. Or, do as I did here, and serve over pasta. Except this wasn’t leftovers.

You can do this with any combination of veggies and herbs that you like. I used what I had on hand and the combination was more than satisfying.

Roasted Vegetables with Orzo and Lemon-Dijon Vinaigrette

Veggies

  • 2-3 carrots, peeled and chopped into 1 inch pieces
  • 1-2 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise and chopped
  • 1 large red pepper, chopped into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 medium to large sweet onion, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 lb asparagus, chopped into 1 inch pieces
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 sprigs rosemary, finely chopped
  • 3 sprigs thyme, finely chopped

Vinaigrette

  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced (I had a very juicy lemon, so if you think you need more, use another)
  • 1-2 tsp dijon mustard
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 sprig thyme, leaves pulled off
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil (or to taste)

Orzo

  • 1 cup uncooked orzo
  • 1-2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Pre heat oven to 425. Coat a cookie sheet with olive oil and add chopped veggies in one layer. Sprinkle salt, pepper, and chopped herbs over. Cook in oven for an hour. I did not turn mine and they came out fine.

177 178

 

182

Cook orzo according to package directions. Once drained, stir in butter and cheese (you could do this with feta cheese instead of parmesan if you prefer. Steve loves orzo with parm and butter, so that’s what we do. Thomas has now become a devotee of the same. Like father, like son, I suppose).

In a small bowl or cruet, zest and juice your lemon. Add mustard, salt and pepper and thyme. Whisk in olive oil (or add oil and shake if you’re using a cruet) until vinaigrette is smooth and emulsified and tastes the way you want it to (I ended up adding a smidge more mustard and oil because the lemon I used was very, very juicy).

181 183

You can either serve the vegetables over the orzo or to the side. Dress the veggies with the vinaigrette. Voila! Meatless dinner.

184

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Pasta, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roasted Vegetables with Orzo and Lemon-Dijon Vinaigrette

  1. Ani says:

    Love the combination of lemon and roasted veggies! Adds some freshness 🙂

Leave a Reply

