Zucchini, Red Pepper, and Chicken Frittata with Feta cheese

Friday nights at the Yellow House on the Corner in the summertime usually involve cereal or takeout. But as much as I love the pizza place we’ve been frequenting this summer, we weren’t in the mood for pizza or subs tonight. Our plan had been breakfast for dinner, but Thomas decided he wanted macaroni and cheese instead. We had vegetables, chicken and eggs so a frittata it was.

I wanted to use Parmesan cheese instead of feta, but I couldn’t find the container in the fridge. Feta seemed like a good alternative. We had left over grilled chicken that Steve had already diced up for salads, so the only chopping was for the veggies.

I used a zucchini, diced, a chopped red pepper, and scallions. But you could use summer squash and onions just as easily if that’s what you have on hand.

Zucchini, Red Pepper, and Chicken Frittata with Feta Cheese

1 medium zucchini, diced
1 red pepper, chopped
1 bunch scallions, chopped
1 cup chicken, diced
8 eggs, beaten with a little milk
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
salt to taste
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

In a large oven proof skillet, heat 1-2 tablespoons olive oil over medium high heat. When oil is hot, add zucchini and peppers. Sauté until veggies are soft. Add scallions, chicken and red pepper flakes. Stir to combine and keep on heat long enough for chicken to warm through.

Beat eggs with a little milk, then stir in feta cheese. Pour egg mixture over chicken and veggie mixture. Keep over heat until eggs begin to set, but are still runny.

Place skillet under broiler and leave in oven until eggs are set. Serve hot, room temperature or cold.

20130803-122742.jpg

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

