Spinach & Artichoke Dip

Appetizers are my favorite thing in the world to order at a restaurant.  So delicious and usually bad for you.  Seriously, everything’s fried or covered in cheese or both.  How is that not the best thing in the world?

Spinach and artichoke dip at restaurants comes in a little dish that you’re supposed to share with people.  It’s usually hot, cheesy, and a little oily.  This version is also hot and cheesy, but it’s not oily.  I adapted this from an old Better Homes & Garden recipe.  You could do it with frozen, thawed spinach, if you wanted to, but I think the fresh baby spinach makes it a little lighter in terms of taste.

I could eat an entire pie plate of this by myself because I love it so much.  It’s my go to appetizer that I bring with me when I can.  It’s super easy to do and honestly, the results are worth the amount of time you spend slicing and dicing.

Spinach & Artichoke Dip

  • 1 -2 cups loosely packed baby spinach
  • 1 can (packed in water) quartered artichoke hearts, chopped, or artichoke heart bottoms (Pastene makes them. I use these because they hold together when you bake them – they don’t get as soggy and it’s a little heartier than the usual ones), chopped
  • half of one medium red onion, diced small
  • 3/4 to 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 3/4 to 1 cup sour cream
  • shredded mozzarella cheese, about a cup plus more for topping
  • shredded parmesan cheese, about a cup plus more for topping
  • white pepper to taste
  • salt to taste

Pre heat oven to 350.

Slice spinach into ribbons by stacking leaves into a small pile and rolling up into a tube shape and then slicing through. It’s called chiffonade.

DSCN2842

In a medium mixing bowl, mix together ribboned spinach, diced onions, chopped artichoke hearts, sour cream, mayo, and a handful of both cheeses.

DSCN2841  DSCN2843

DSCN2844

Spread mixture into a pie plate or shallow baking dish.  Sprinkle remaining cheese on top.

DSCN2845

Bake in oven until hot and bubbly – around 20-25 minutes.

DSCN2851

Serve with pita chips, tortilla chips, sliced baguettes, veggies, whatever floats your boat.  It’s so yummy.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

