Meatless Enchiladas

This is one of the recipes my mom gave me around or after college that was relatively cheap to make, filling, and easy enough for a novice not to screw up.  Over the years, I’ve changed up the original recipe and adapted it for different occasions.  When I want to do a meatless meal, this is a great option.  I often make it with added chicken and you could certainly do that as well, but I would advise you to cook the chicken before you add it to the filling.

The recipe below makes two trays and I can fit five enchiladas in each tray.  Serving size varies – some nights I eat one, others two – so you can either get five or ten servings from two trays.  If you only want to make one tray, halve the recipe below.  They’re great for leftovers, though.  It takes no time at all to reheat in the microwave for dinner or lunch the next day.

This is the first time I’ve made them with whole wheat shells, though.  The grocery store was completely picked over for fajita-sized wraps and I prefer to use those instead of the larger burrito ones, mainly for portion control purposes.  This isn’t exactly a light recipe.

Also, don’t worry if you have leftover veggie/chile filling.  It is amazing scrambled with eggs and hot sauce the next day.

Meatless Enchiladas

  • 10 flour or whole wheat fajita sized wraps (I used Chi-chi’s brand because that’s literally ALL there was on the shelves today)
  • 2 14.5 oz cans of refried beans (I used fat free, but you could certainly use spicy or traditional or whatever)
  • 1 28 oz can of enchilada sauce, plus one small 12.5 oz can
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium to large green pepper, diced small
  • 1 medium to large onion, diced small
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 2 small 2.5 oz cans diced green chiles
  • 2 small 2.25 oz cans black olives (optional – my husband loves these)
  • 1 package cheddar, monterey jack, or Mexican blend shredded cheese

Dice onion and pepper into an equal size.  Add two minced cloves of garlic.  Saute over medium high heat in the olive oil with salt and pepper to taste until softened.  Once veggies are softened, add chili powder and cumin.  Cook an additional couple of minutes, then add chiles and black olives (if using).  Stir well to combine and allow chiles and olives to heat through.  Remove from heat and set aside.  Let cool a little bit so they’re not super hot when you want to work with them.

DSCN2970 DSCN2969 DSCN2973

Preheat oven to 350.  I usually line my trays with aluminum foil, but you can skip that part if you don’t mind scrubbing later.  Spray with cooking spray, then add a little bit of enchilada sauce to the tray and swirl the sauce to coat the bottom of the tray.  This should help your enchiladas not to stick to the bottom of the pan.

DSCN2979

Lay one shell flat.  Spread beans on the shell, then layer with a small amount of cheese (just a sprinkle), then cover with the vegetable/chile mixture.  Roll up carefully, keeping filling from falling out, then lay seam side down in a 9 by 13 tray.  Once the tray is full, pour sauce over the enchiladas until well coated.  Sprinkle cheese over everything – as much or as little as you want.

DSCN2974DSCN2975

DSCN2976DSCN2978

DSCN2980DSCN2981

DSCN2982DSCN2983

Bake uncovered in a 350 oven for 20-25 minutes, until cheese is melted and bubbling.

DSCN2984DSCN2985

Let cool for a couple of minutes when you remove them from the oven.  The filling will be very, very hot.  Serve with sour cream if you want to add a little creamy coolness to the  meal.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

