Bacon & Scallion Frittata

The first time I made this, I said to Steve, “This may possibly be the only way I want to eat eggs for the rest of my life.”  My husband’s mouth was too full to respond.

Eggs for dinner is a staple on Fridays at the Yellow House on the Corner.  But tomorrow night I’m going  drinking with the other preschool moms for our monthly night out, so I moved the eggs up to tonight so I can throw a frozen pizza in the oven tomorrow night before I rush out the door to drink Scorpion bowls.  Friday night is that one night during the week where I absolutely cannot stand the thought of being in my kitchen.  I just want something easy, possibly premade (Trader Joe’s fried rice is pretty awesome for a Friday night, too), and minimal clean up.  A frittata is a great option for that because you can throw your leftover veggies, meat, and pasta into a pan, pour eggs over it, smother it with cheese and BAM, dinner’s done.

You could, of course, make this for brunch as well.  Serve it with fried potatoes and roasted red peppers.  I might do that for Christmas breakfast.

But for tonight, I am making this and serving it with a salad.

Part of what makes this so awesome is that you cook the scallions and the eggs in the bacon fat.  Most recipes will tell you to remove the bacon, drain all but a tsp of the fat, then return the cooked bacon to the pan with all its other ingredients.  Oh no, my friends, we are cooking those delicious eggs in bacon fat.

Which probably makes the salad moot.

Bacon & Scallion Frittata

  • 8 eggs, beaten with a little milk and hot sauce
  • 6 strips of bacon, cut
  • 6-8 scallions, chopped
  • shredded cheddar cheese (less than 1/4 cup)

Pre heat oven to 425.

Snip bacon into a large, cold oven proof skillet with kitchen scissors. Over medium heat, cook bacon until fat is rendered and bacon starts to crisp.  Add scallions and cook until softened.

   

Pour eggs into pan and stir once.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Let cook on stove over medium heat until eggs are mostly set, but still a little runny in the middle.

Place pan in oven and cook until eggs are golden and set.

You can serve hot from oven, cold from fridge, or room temperature.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Fast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

