Roasted Vegetables

Super Storm Sandy fried my electricity for 12 hours last week.  I am extremely fortunate that’s all that happened.  I live in Massachusetts, but I don’t live on the coast so I didn’t have flooding.  And the huge tree in front of my house survived intact, unlike during Irene when I lost a bunch of large branches.  I know how incredibly lucky I am that the worst that happened was two days of no preschool for the little one and an annoying power outage.  New York and New Jersey will be irrevocably different now and I hate how many people are suffering.  If you can donate to the Red Cross or any other relief organization, please do so.

I start this recipe with my Sandy anecdote because the loss of power meant a lot of stuff in my fridge had to go.  So I headed off to all my grocery stores with a rather large list of things to buy.  I usually buy most of my produce at Trader Joe’s and they had some good looking stuff today.  Steve and I are trying to eat a little healthier, so I wanted a hearty side dish that was still going to be good for me and hopefully not contain a ton of carbs.

You could use any vegetables for this (the recipe I tried to follow had summer squash in it, but I didn’t have it so I left it out).  I wanted to use fresh thyme for the recipe as well, but I got to the grocery store too late – the fresh herbs were mostly cleaned out and all that was left was either mint or dill or chives.  Dill might be good in this, too, though.  I used a pinch or two of dried thyme instead of fresh.

This would be a great side to serve with steak or fish, but we’re having turkey burgers tonight because that’s what the preschooler will eat.

Roasted Vegetables

  • 1 medium zucchini, cut into chunks
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into chunks
  • 1 yellow pepper, cut into chunks
  • 1 red onion, cut into chunks
  • 1 pound asparagus (I used 12 oz), cut into 1 inch pieces
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic, grated or finely minced (optional)
  • 1-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme or 1/2 tsp dried thyme (or any fresh / dried herb you like)
  • fresh lemon juice to taste

Preheat oven to 450.  In large roasting pan (or any large pan), toss together veggies with olive oil, salt & pepper, thyme, and lemon zest.  Roast for at least 30 minutes, until veggies are softened and beginning to brown.

Serve with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

The leftovers are awesome with eggs, by the way.

Pre oven     

Voila! Dinner

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Sides, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

