Swedish Apple Pie

I don’t know if this actually from Sweden.  But that’s what my mom calls it so here it is.  This is the kind of pie that non-bakers make.  I am, actually, a baker, but I am way too busy today to roll out real pie crust.  It’s been one of those hectic days, where I haven’t actually sat down to do anything for myself.  I promised my husband a pie, though, and no way was I going back on that.

It might take longer to slice up the apples than it does to make the crust.  We happen to have an abundance of apples because like every other parent desperate to entertain our child on a weekend, we went apple picking two weeks ago.  Thomas actually ate more apples than he picked.  And he scampered up those ladders like a champ.  Or like he wanted to induce heart failure in his mother.  He did get stung by a bee while we were there, but he was very brave and super good about it.  Least I can do to reward that effort is pie.

Swedish Apple Pie

Filling:

  • 3 large apples (or 4-5 small ones) (subjective – you may use bigger pie plates than I do)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Crust:

  • 3/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt

Fill a pie plate 2/3 full with apples (see how the subjectivity comes in?).  Add raisins and nuts, then sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.

In a large mixing bowl, add melted butter, flour, sugar, and salt.  Beat until moist.  The batter will be thick.

Pour batter over apple mixture.  Bake in a 350 oven for about 45 minutes.

Then, mmm pie.  If you serve it with vanilla ice cream (which I did not have the forethought to do), you’re probably going to be a rock star.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Fast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

