Lemon Chicken with Artichoke Hearts

Chicken is a really versatile dinner.  It’s also really bland.  I roasted a chicken last week and my sister made chicken a la king with the leftovers.  It didn’t taste the same as turkey a la king and I think that’s mainly because chicken is boring.  It’s cheaper and healthier than red meat, though, so it’s good to have a few chicken recipes under your belt.

You can dress up chicken a thousand different ways or you can just salt and pepper it.  There are plenty of nights where I just bake chicken with a little Montreal poultry seasoning from McCormick and serve it with frozen veggies and honey mustard sauce.  Thomas likes it with Italian dressing.

When I was first learning to cook, I thought I would make my boyfriend a nice dinner.  I ended up serving him raw chicken and making mac & cheese after I was sure we both weren’t going to die of salmonella poisoning.  Thankfully, he decided that my total ineptness in the kitchen was endearing and married me anyway.  That I recovered and learned to cook was a happy surprise for him, let me tell you.

This recipe came from one of those “what’s in the overcrowded pantry and vegetable bin?” conversations.  I served it tonight with white rice and steamed green beans (steam for 4-5 minutes, toss with butter, salt & pepper).  My parents came by for dinner and it was universally thumbs-upped.  Easy to please, those awesome parents of mine.

Lemon Chicken with Artichoke Hearts

As usual, this one of those chicken recipes you can make in bulk or small amounts.  I made it for six (five adults with healthy appetites and one two year old who wanted watermelon instead).

  • 3 lemons, juiced and zested
  • couple splashes white wine
  • couple tablespoons olive oil
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced or grated
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 cans artichoke heart bottoms, drained and chopped  Pastene makes them.  You can use quartered artichoke hearts, too, but don’t use the marinated kind.  Use the kind packed in water.
  • 2 bunches of scallions, cleaned and chopped

Heat oven to 350.  While oven heats up, marinate the chicken in lemon juice, lemon zest, olive oil, and garlic – for about a half hour.  While chicken marinates, dice up artichoke heart bottoms and scallions.

Place chicken and its marinade in a glass baking dish.  Cover with chopped artichoke hearts and scallions.  Splash with white wine.  Drizzle with olive oil if you so desire.

   

Bake until chicken is cooked through, about 35-40 minutes.  Serve the chicken with the artichoke hearts and scallions spooned over it with a little of the sauce on top.  I served this white rice, so I also doused the rice with the sauce.  This is a great, quick dinner to feed a crowd.

   

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

