Southwest Salad

This is modified from an old recipe I found in Cooking Light.  The original recipe has cilantro in it.  Personally, I think cilantro tastes like dirt so I don’t use it.  Steve’s not really a huge fan, either.  You could substitute parsley for cilantro, I suppose, but I decided just to skip the greens and substitute something else (scallions).

Steve loves this recipe.  At one point in time, we ate this weekly.  The great thing about this salad is that you can serve it warm on the first night, then eat the leftovers cold for the rest of the week.  For leftovers, you can stir in chopped cooked chicken if you wanted additional protein.  It’s really filling on its own, though, too.

This was served tonight with grilled salmon and grilled asparagus.  I have literally served this with everything – steak, chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, sausages, whatever.  It goes really well with everything.

Southwest Salad

  • 1 cup uncooked long grain white rice
  • 1 3/4 cup water
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 bunches of scallions, chopped
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin (if you decide to use cilantro, you can skip the cumin)
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Cook rice according to package directions.

In a medium bowl, whisk together dressing ingredients – lime zest, juice, garlic, cumin (if using), and olive oil.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Once rice is fully cooked, add to dressing.  Stir in frozen corn (the heat from the rice will thaw the corn), black beans, scallions, and cilantro if using.

Serve warm, room temperature or cold.

The leftovers hold up really well.  Because you’re stirring hot rice into the dressing, the rice really absorbs the dressing well.

  

 

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Salad, Sides, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

