Vegetable Rice

I originally used this recipe from Everyday Food (it was called sweet pepper rice), but it was a little bland for my taste, so I’ve modified it a little bit for more flavor.  This is a great side dish for chicken and fish, especially.  It’s mild, but it will complement any dish.  The first time I made it, I served it with salmon and sauteed spinach.  Tonight, I’m serving it with honey mustard chicken tenders (see entry for 1/11/12).

What I like about this side dish is that you can skip serving a vegetable, if you so choose.  Plus, let’s be honest, white rice is sort of bland.  I rarely if ever serve white rice on its own (unlike brown rice, which has a nuttier flavor and a heartier texture).  I usually only have plain white rice if I have the stomach flu.  I’ll use it for salads, to serve with Chicken Chili, or serve stir fry over it.  So this is a nice way to have a rice side dish that’s not bland.

The key to this dish is keeping your veggies diced around the same size.  You could substitute other veggies for this what’s here (I’m thinking of substituting zucchini next time for one of the peppers).  Dicing things small can be painstaking, but it makes everything cook more evenly.

If you don’t have chicken broth, obviously use water for the rice.  But if you do have the chicken broth, I would highly recommend that over the water.  It really adds a lot of flavor to the rice dish.

Vegetable Rice

  • 1 cup uncooked white rice
  • 1 3/4 cups chicken broth or stock
  • 2 medium bell peppers, any color, seeded & cored, diced small
  • 1 medium onion (or 1/2 large), diced small
  • 2 medium celery stalks, diced small
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

In a medium sauce pan over medium high heat, heat olive oil.  Add diced veggies and garlic and saute until soft and onions are translucent (about 7 minutes).

Add rice and stir to coat.

Add chicken broth.  Bring to a boil.  Turn down heat to simmer or low.

Cover and cook for an additional twenty minutes or until liquid is completely absorbed.  Remove from heat and let sit for an additional five minutes.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

