Easy Marinade with Fresh Herbs & Mayonnaise

I know; it sounds completely gross, doesn’t it?  Mayonnaise in a marinade?  What the what?  But honestly, it kept the chicken so moist (what a horrific word) and it added a nice zing to the otherwise bland meal known as “chicken again.”

I cleaned out my fridge for the first time since we bought it.  I mean, I scrubbed it clean.  Then I cleaned out both freezers, the one attached to the fridge for the first time since we bought it and the one we have downstairs for the first time ever.  I’m embarrassed to tell you how many packages of frozen vegetables and chicken I found.  I’m also embarrassed to tell you this is the first time I’ve ever cleaned it out and I found stuff in there that probably should have been thrown out ages ago.  This is a long story to tell you why I’m looking for new ways to serve chicken because I’m probably going to be eating it until I retire.

I made this with two packs of chicken tenders, so maybe a pound of chicken?  It was probably 4-5 tenders to a pack.  I baked it, but I bet you could grill it if you shook off the excess before you put it on the grill.

Marinade with Fresh Herbs & Mayonnaise

You could use any fresh herbs you have on hand.  I want to try this with tarragon next time.  Chives and dill might be interesting, too.

  • 1-2 tbsp fresh herbs, chopped.  I used thyme, marjoram & oregano this time
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise (I used light)
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, grated
  • 1-2 tbsp white wine vinegar, to taste
  • 1-2 tbsp worcestershire sauce, to taste
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • pinch of salt

As usual, these measurements are all approximate.  I sort of added stuff and tasted as I went along, but this is probably pretty close.  Taste as you go.  I ended up adding a little more mayo because the white wine vinegar and the garlic were a little sharper than I had intended; the extra mayo mellowed it out just enough.

Whisk together all ingredients in a bowl.  Add chicken and let sit for ten to fifteen minutes before cooking.

This could also be a good pasta salad or potato salad dressing as well.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Fast, Marinade and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

