Beef Stir Fry with Orange-Soy Sauce

Stir fry is a great way to use up leftover veggies in your fridge.  You can easily make this vegetarian by pumping up the veggies or substituting portabello mushrooms for the beef strips in this recipe.

So the sauce on this wasn’t exactly supposed to be this way.  I have this awesome jar of garlic chile sauce, but I can’t find it in my fridge.  Which means I’m either out or it got pitched during the last round of cleaning.  Either way, I was super annoyed I couldn’t find it because I love the kick it gives in sauces like the one I made tonight.  I was able to improvise something different and I’m actually pleased with the way it came out.

The problem with these kinds of sauces is I rarely measure, so it’s always a dash of this and a sprinkle of that.  It never tastes the same twice.  But with the general same ingredients, it usually comes out approximately tasting the same way – or better.

I served this over brown rice, which I think adds a nice, nutty texture to the dish that white rice would lack.  If you prefer white rice, by all means.  I had white rice last night, which is part of why I went with brown today to break it up a little.

Beef Stir Fry with Orange-Soy Sauce

Stir Fry

  • 1 lb sirloin or other red meat, cut into strips
  • 2 zucchini, quartered and chopped
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, sliced thinly
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into disks
  • 2 cans water chestnuts, sliced or whole (I used sliced because that’s what was on sale this week)
  • 1 bunch scallions, chopped
  • 1-2 handfuls green beans

Sauce

  • 1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1-2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp ginger (use fresh if you can get it; I used powdered)
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp chipotle chili powder (use 1/4 tsp, taste, add another 1/4 taste, etc., until you get the desired heat)
  • 1/4 tsp dried mustard
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp cornstarch

Cook rice according to package directions.  Brown rice takes longer to cook, so I chopped everything and made Thomas’ dinner while the rice cooked.

Heat a large shallow skillet or wok over medium high heat and add about a tablespoon of oil to the pan.  Add beef and let it sear.

Let beef cook for a couple minutes, then add diced zucchini, peppers, and carrots.  Saute for another couple minutes, then add water chestnuts, scallions, and green beans.  Pour sauce over veggies and beef and cook until sauce thickens and beef is cooked through.

While rice cooks and the beef is searing, whisk together all the ingredients, adding the cornstarchaftereverything else has already been whisked once on its own.

Once sauce is thickened and the beef is cooked, remove from heat.  Serve over rice.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

