Grilling Ideas

Let’s be interactive here.

I have two types of marinades in my repetoire for grilling (three if you count barbeque sauce).  The first is lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, and various fresh herbs.  The second is usually soy based, with a spoonful of garlic chili paste, lime juice, and whatever other creative things I can come up with.  Those usually come out pretty well, but it’s predictable.  It’s the same old same old and I’m looking to branch out a bit.

Here’s the thing about grilling.  Sundays at the Yellow House on the Corner are cookout days.  It’s pretty much an open invitation for family and friends to drop by for a good meal and beer.  We love to entertain and we keep it easy and fresh by grilling fresh vegetables to go along with whatever we’re grilling.

So let me know – what do you like to grill?  And how do you marinate it?

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Ask A Reader, Your Turn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grilling Ideas

  1. Andrew says:

    Use dry rubs- salt (kosher) pepper other various herbs. You’d be surprised how much you can get out of dry rubs.

    If you’re concerned about moisture, focus on your cooking method. A very hot start and then bring the termp way down. I’ve very fond of stainless steel pans right now, as they create a nice sear. I don’t get the same feel with the non stick. Although the wives tail about sealing juices in is a misnomer, it does create a cavity in which the item is cooked within it’s own natural juices.

    Also I have found the large supermarkets meats to be overpriced. There are a couple butchers around us that are much cheaper, and always better. I got nearly a pound of skirt steak for 4$ the other day. I haven’t left a S&S with skirt steak for under 15$.

Leave a Reply

