“Refried” Black Beans

Canned or dried beans are the cheap person’s heaven for dinner.  A generic can of black beans will run around a dollar, give or take some cents.  They’re incredibly versatile.  Beans can go in salads, in soups, or be the star of your dish.  You can do a lot with beans, is all I’m saying.  And they’re pretty budget-friendly, which means you can dress up them as much or as little as you like.

Refried beans that come in a can look so unappetizing that it can detract from your enjoyment of your meal.  Seriously, they look gross.  They’re tasty, but anything that plops out of a can with the ridges still on it is not exactly going to end up on the cover of Bon Appetite.  I use canned refried beans in an enchilada dish that Steve loves, but it’s a hassle to make and it was 82 degrees today (in MARCH!) and I didn’t feel like turning on the oven (that will be a recurring theme as the weather gets warmer).  But I wanted Tex Mex, or at least some approximation of it.  And I still had two cans of black beans left from the Great Pantry Reorganization Project that consumed two hours of my Saturday a few weeks back.

Quick and easy, this is will take you no time to master.  I wish I had tasted as I cooked because I oversalted this slightly, but next time I’ll know better not to use so much salt.  This is definitely a repeat for me.  Sometimes, when I create an original recipe, I get too carried away with adding things in, but I left this one simple because I think the flavors mesh well together.

“Refried” Black Beans

  • 1 medium green bell pepper, diced small
  • 1 medium red onion, diced small
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and cored, diced small
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, grated or finely minced
  • 2 15 oz cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 lime, zest and juice
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup (I didn’t really measure) vegetable broth
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • salt to taste

In a large skillet, heat a tablespoon or two of olive oil.  Saute peppers, onion, and garlic until veggies are softened, not browned.

Add drained beans and stir together.  Add in lime zest and juice, then cumin and salt.  Add vegetable broth and cook bean mixture until liquid is absorbed.

  

Move beans to a bowl once liquid is absorbed.  Coarsely mash with a potato masher.

  

I served this in flour tortillas with salsa, cheese, and sour cream.  It was delicious.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Fast, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

