Garlic Potato Salad

The first time my mom made this we all made a face.  See, my mom has this amazing potato salad recipe that’s completely unbelievably delicious.  So when she made this one instead we all kind of looked at her like, “seriously?”  Seriously.  This is good stuff.  There have even been times where this has been preferred over her signature potato salad.  How’s that for a good indicator how awesome this is?

The great thing about this potato salad is you can serve it warm or cold.  It goes well with casual cookout options like burgers and dogs and their more upscale cousins steak and chicken.  In short, you can serve it with anything.

You can make this as garlicky as you like or as mildly garlic flavored as you like.  We fall somewhere in between here at The Yellow House on the Corner because I love garlic while Stephen is sort of meh about it.  How strong you make it is your choice.  This is also (relatively) waist friendly because light mayonnaise is one of the ingredients.  I’ve never made it using full fat, so I can’t tell you if there’s a difference.

I’m serving this with sausage and sauteed red peppers and onions with spicy mustard.  Nothing fancy about that recipe; it can all be done in a skillet and served in a sub roll.  Slice your peppers and onions approximately the same thickness and they’ll cook evenly.

Garlic Potato Salad

  • 1 1/2 to 2 lbs small red potatoes, unpeeled
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely minced
  • 2/3 cups light mayonnaise
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp hot water
  • 1-2 bunches scallions, trimmed and rinsed, cut into bite size pieces

Cut the potatoes into bite size pieces.  In a large pot, cover potatoes with cold water (about an inch over the potatoes).  Bring to a boil and let cook until fork tender, but not mushy.

 

While potatoes cook, whisk together garlic, mayonnaise, lemon zest, lemon juice and water.

Drain potatoes and add to serving dish.  Cover with mayonnaise and mix gently.  Sprinkle with scallions.  Serve warm or room temperature.  If you prefer cold, refrigerate for a couple hours.

 

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

