Beef and Mushroom Noodle Soup

I totally wish I had made this recipe sooner because I would have eaten it all winter if I had.  Now, it’s coming up on spring (and it’s been a warm one so far), so I think this might be the only time I make it this year.  Which is SUCH a crying shame because the yummy factor on this cannot be overstated.

The original name of the recipe is Creamy Beef and Mushroom Noodle soup, but I think that’s a misnomer.  It didn’t look creamy like the picture in the book I got it from.  Plus, I associate creamy soups with a certain thickness and this was not a thick soup.  It was filling and oh so delicious, but it wasn’t thick or creamy.

It was easy.  There’s not a ton of ingredients, so you get to enjoy the taste of each one in the soup.  This would be a perfect soup for a cold, rainy Sunday.  The leftovers were awesome.

I may tinker with this slightly, somewhere down the line, but for right now I’m content with how it ended up.  You will be, too.

Beef and Mushroom Noodle Soup

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 medium onion coarsely chopped
  • 2 tsp finely chopped garlic
  • 1 8 0z package sliced fresh mushrooms (I used cremini here, but you could definitely substitute button if you want a milder flavor)
  • 1 1/2 lbs top sirloin steak, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 6 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup dry sherry or beef broth
  • 1/4 cup ketchup (trust me, sounds gross but it’s good)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 2 cups uncooked egg noodles
  • 8 0z (1 cup) sour cream

 

Melt butter in a large Dutch oven over medium high heat.  Cook onion, garlic, and mushroom in butter 5-6 minutes, stirring frequently until mushrooms are softened.

Stir in beef.  Cook 5-6 minutes, stirring frequently, until beef is no longer pink.  Add in beef broth, sherry, ketchup, salt and pepper, stirring as you go along.  Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium low.  Cover and cook 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

 

Stir in noodles, recover, and cook until noodles are tender (between five and seven minutes), stirring occasionally.

Stir in sour cream and cook an additional 5 minutes, until well blended, stirring frequently.  I would use full fat sour cream with this – I used light and ended up having to add more than 8 oz and also didn’t find it to break up as much as I wanted to.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

