Banana Bread

My mother-in-law makes banana bread for Thomas whenever she gets a chance.  He would eat the whole loaf if he had a chance to, but he’d probably have to wrestle Stephen for it.  Between the two of them, they can polish off one at warp speed (or three days, whatever).

She gave me the recipe before I got married, but I never made it until Thomas came home from her house with a faceful of crumbs and the rest of the loaf she’d made that morning.  Since he eats bananas at an alarming rate, it’s rare I have a chance to have any leftover to make bread, but I do this week.  We made it together, as we do every time the Kitchen Aid comes into play.

Baking is the one place where I measure things (unless chocolate chips are involved and then all bets are off), so this recipe is accurate to the teaspoon.  Enjoy!

Banana Bread

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shortening (like Crisco)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs slightly beaten
  • 2-3 bananas, mashed

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together.  Cream shortening, gradually add sugar.  Continue beating until light and fluffy.

Add eggs and mix until smooth.

Add dry ingredients alternately with the mashed bananas, stirring just enough to combine thoroughly.  Do no beat.

Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 1 hour (I usually don’t need the full hour, usually 53-55 minutes).

 

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Snacks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

