Parmesan Chicken Tenders

This is a simple, easy meal that takes very little time to prepare.  Prep time is two minutes (five if you’re like me and cut your own chicken tenders) and cooking time is no more than twenty minutes.

I made this meal tonight because a) it’s fast and b) my two year old conned me into baking cupcakes, so I needed something quick.  It’s really hard to say no to those big blue eyes and it did in fact seem reasonable to make cupcakes when I should have been starting dinner.

This is from Everyday Food and it’s another example of why I love the magazine so much.  Easy, approachable, fast.  I have yet to make a meal from the magazine that I didn’t like.

Parmesan Chicken Tenders

  • 1 1/2 lbs chicken tenders (or breasts cut into strips if you’re like me and don’t want to spend the extra money for someone else to cut it)
  • 1 tsp olive oil + 1 tbsp
  • 2/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2/3 cup panko breadcrumbs (please use the panko and not regular ones.  It holds up so much better and has more crunch)
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450 and set your oven rack to the upper third.

In a 9 x 13 in baking dish, toss chicken with 1 tsp olive oil and 1 tsp dried thyme and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

 

Combine panko and parmesan cheese in a small dish.  Spread chicken in a single layer in the baking dish and sprinkle the tenders with the cheese/panko mixture.  Drizzle with remaining olive oil.

Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes or until topping is golden brown.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner, Fast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

