Spicy Honey Brushed Chicken Thighs

The first time I made this, it was not a raging success.  I don’t know if it was because the stove in my apartment was a piece of crap (it was) or if it was because I cooked them on a broiler pan and crowded the chicken on there instead of a sheet pan (possibly) or a combination thereof.  But the chicken ended up crispy on the outside and raw on the inside and I ended up in a rage at Cooking Light for giving me crappy directions.

This is actually a really fast meal to make.  Total cooking time is twelve minutes for eight chicken thighs.  You can make it spicier, if you want, by adding more cayenne to the mixture than called for.  My husband Stephen is not a huge fan of super spicy food, so I stick to a small amount of cayenne pepper.  The only thing I added to this was onion powder, which was not called for in the original recipe.

I had all of these spices on hand and I think most people usually do.  Again, this is one of those recipes that I don’t necessarily measure for.  I mostly just pour spices in my hand and dump them in the bowl.

Spicy Honey Brushed Chicken Thighs

  • 8 skinless boneless chicken thighs
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 6 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp cider vinegar

Preheat broiler.  Combine spices in a bowl and toss with chicken to coat.

In a small bowl, whisk together honey and cider vinegar.

Place chicken on a sheet pan lined with aluminum foil and coated with cooking spray.

Broil five minutes on one side and turn.  Broil five minutes on the other side.  Brush with honey and cider mixture and return to oven.  Broil one minute.  Turn chicken and brush with the remaining honey and cider mixture.  Broil another minute.

Next time, I make this I’m going to serve it with the stovetop macaroni cheese I made for Thomas and my sister and myself the other night (recipe forthcoming).  I’ve been eating the chicken as a leftover at work with roasted brocoli.  Toss brocoli, salt, pepper and olive oil on a sheet pan and roast in the oven at 400 for 20-25 minutes.  Squeeze lemon juice over brocoli when it comes out of the oven.  So much better than limp, steamed brocoli.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

