Chicken Chili

This is, hands down, my husband’s favorite meal.  Stephen would eat this every weekend if I felt like making it every weekend.  It’s a Cooking Light recipe.  I’ve made it so many times I don’t even have to look at the ingredients.

This is not a traditional chili recipe in the sense that it’s thick like chili.  The consistency of this is more soup or stew like, but it’s chili.  It’s spicy and warm and so delicious.  It may sound weird to serve it over rice, but it’s so good.  You can top with all your favorite traditional chili toppings – like cheese and sour cream – if you like.  I usually at least add cheese, sometimes sour cream if I’ve made it spicier than usual.

Chicken Chili

  • 1 lb cooked chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 lb cooked chicken thighs, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1-2 jalapeno peppers, cored, seeded and diced (leave seeds and core if you want more of a kick)
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 14.5 oz can no salt added stewed tomatoes
  • 1 14.5 oz can of chicken broth
  • 1 12 oz bottle chili sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 15 oz can kidney beans
  • 4 cups cooked white rice

Saute onions, bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, and garlic until onion is softened and translucent.  Do not brown.  Add chicken.

Add spices and stir.  (If you want to make it spicier, add more cayenne.  Stephen’s not a huge spicy food person, so I usually eliminate the cayenne altogether if I use two jalapenos.)  Add mustard, worcestershire, chili sauce, and water, stirring to scrape up any bits on the bottom of the pot.

 

Add tomatoes (undrained) and chicken broth.  Let simmer for about twenty minutes.  Stir in kidney beans (my sister prefers to add the beans with the tomatoes and broth; it doesn’t really matter either way).  Serve over white rice.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Chili

  1. bo says:

    This is MY favorite dinner, too.

Leave a Reply

