Butternut Squash Soup – Update

After being less than satisfied with the first batch of the soup, I decided to tackle it again.  Naturally, I planned a warm, delicious, filling soup for a night when it’s 60 degrees out in February.  Whatever.

Changes I made:

Substituted chicken stock for vegetable stock – this was the kicker.  The soup felt much more balanced and had a little bit more tang to it.

Substituted russet potatoes for Yukon gold and diced them smaller.  The last time, the soup felt more potatoe-y and a little thicker than what I imagined the soup to taste like.

Salt and pepper.  Last time, I seasoned the soup individually for each bowl.  Adding salt and pepper to the pot itself gave it a little more oomph.

Paprika.  I added a little extra paprika this time around, maybe an extra half teaspoon.

So revised ingredients:

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 large russet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 1lb 40z bags of frozen butternut squash
  • 1 32 oz box chicken stock
  • 1 to 2 tsp paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

Saute onion in butter until translucent.  Do not brown.  Add potatoes, squash, chicken stock, and paprika.  Simmer until potatoes and squash are tender.  Using a hand mixer, blend until smooth (or put in a blender and blend till smooth.  Just remember to VENT the top or you will have soup on the ceiling).  Add salt and pepper to taste.

We had this with olive oil ciabatta bread.  Everyone agreed this was much tastier the second time around.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

