Roasted Flank Steak with Olive Oil Herb Rub

My husband Stephen refers to this recipe as “you know, that one you make where you burned the hell out of your hand that time.”  Such infamy for such an elegant and easy dish.  It’s true, though; I totally burned the hell out of my hand making this.  I probably should have gone to the ER, but we had guests and it was our first “dinner party” at our new place, so I just iced it and hoped for the best.  The best was a really gross blister shaped like the handle of my thirteen inch Calphalon skillet across my left palm.

Anyway…

I usually serve this with risotto, but I didn’t feel like going through the hassle of risotto tonight so I’m serving this with roasted potatoes and frozen asparagus (thawed, obviously).  Recipe for roasted potatoes is below as well.  The steak recipe is from an ancient issue of Cooking Light; the potatoes is a Kristin original (or at least swiped from someone who served it to me and I can’t remember who).

Roasted Flank Steak with Olive Oil Herb Rub

  • 1 tsp parsley chopped
  • 1 tsp thyme, chopped
  • 1 tsp oregano, chopped
  • 1/8 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tsp olive oil

(I’m going to stop right here in the middle of the ingredient list and tell you I pretty much ignored those measurements.  It’s more like a tablespoon of each herb and I doubled the garlic because I love garlic and who really measures lemon zest?)

  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 lb flank steak
  • 1/4 cup dry red wine
  • 1/4 cup beef broth
  • cooking spray (I can’t use cooking spray on my pans because it kills the coating, so I usually use olive oil)

Combine first six ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.

Salt and pepper the steak.  In a large, oven-proof skillet over medium high heat with cooking spray (or oil), cook the steak for a minute on each side or until browned.  Add wine and broth; cook for an additional minute.

 

Spread the herb mixture over the steak and place the pan in the oven.  Bake at 400 for 10 minutes or until desired degree of doneness.

Pre-oven

Out of oven

 

Let stand 10 minutes before cutting steak diagonally across the grain into thin slices.  Serve with pan sauce.

Make sure when you take the pan out of the oven that at some point you don’t grab the handle with your bare hand or this too will become the meal your significant other calls “that one you made where you burned the hell out of your hand that time.”

Roasted Potatoes

  • 2 lbs small or baby potatoes, unpeeled (I use red ones), cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 package Lipton beefy onion soup mix
  • enough olive oil to coat

 

In large bowl or ziploc bag, mix together potatoes, seasoning packet and olive oil until potatoes are coated.  Spread onto a baking sheet that has been prepped with cooking spray.  Bake 30-40 minutes, stirring occasionally, at 400 or until browned and crisp to your liking.

 

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roasted Flank Steak with Olive Oil Herb Rub

  1. bo says:

    Mrs. Kane I think introduced us to beefy potatoes.

Leave a Reply

