Smoky Turkey Shepherd’s Pie

This is one of Rachael Ray’s 30 minute meals.  It took me an hour and a half.  Seriously, has anyone ever in the history of time made one of her thirty minute meals in thirty minutes?

This is one of my husband’s favorite meals.  It’s incredibly tasty, but it’s labor intensive.  It’s worth the effort.  It’s more of a weekend dish for me because it takes me forever to make it, but the leftovers are great for during the week.

Smoky Turkey Shepherd’s Pie

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 lb bacon, chopped
  • 1 package ground turkey (about 1 1/3 lb)
  • 1 tbsp smoked paprika (or 1 1/2 tsp paprika and 1 1/2 tsp cumin, combined) plus a sprinkle
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped (from about 5-6 sprigs)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, diced (I used three)
  • 3 ribs celery, chopped
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, seeded, cored, and chopped
  • 2 cups frozen peas
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups chicken stock or broth (The first time I made this I found 2 cups to be too much; I usually use about a cup and a half)
  • 3 large russet potatoes, cubed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp butter

  

In a large, deep skillet, pan or pot (I use a soup pot most of the time), heat olive oil over medium high heat.  Brown bacon and remove excess fat.

Add turkey, breaking up with a wooden spoon.  While turkey browns, add paprika (and cumin), salt, pepper, and thyme.

Once turkey is browned, add onions, carrots, and celery.  Cook, stirring occasionally, for five minutes.

Stir in peas and red pepper; cook for another 2 minutes.

Stir in flour and cook an additional 2 minutes.

Stir in broth and 1/2 cup sour cream.  Let simmer over low heat, stirring occasionally, until sauce thickens.

While you’re browning bacon and turkey, boil cubed potatoes in water until tender.  Once potatoes are tender, drain and return to pot, reserving 1 ladleful cooking water.  Stir the cooking water into a beaten egg.  Add 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 tbsp butter to potatoes and mash.  If potatoes are dry, add a couple splashes of milk.  Once potatoes are mashed, pour in the tempered egg and stir.

 

Pour the turkey filling into a casserole dish, spread the potatoes over the filling.  If you want to, sprinkle the potatoes with chopped chives (I didn’t feel like doing that today) and paprika.  Broil until potatoes are golden brown.

 

If that takes you 30 minutes or less, you’re a better person than I am.  The chopping alone took me almost a half hour.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

