Pasta with Creamy Sauce

Today was one of those days where nothing bad happened, but it was just an annoying, blah, crappy day.  It was a cloudy, gray, yucky day outside, too.  Days like today are made for comfort food.

This is a fast and easy dinner that’s filling and easily adaptable to whatever you want throw into it (veggies, if you like, or leftover chicken or hamburger).  I made a vegetarian version of this for Thomas because I used hot, spicy sausage and I knew he wouldn’t eat that.  Also, this is one of those instances where I will totally use jarred sauce.

Pasta with Creamy Sauce

  • 1 lb box non-spaghetti pasta of your choice (I used gemelli shaped today)
  • 2-3 cups part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 jar spaghetti sauce
  • 1 lb pork sausage, hot or sweet – your choice (I used hot)
  • 2-3 cups shredded mozzarella (optional)

Put on a pot of salted water to boil.  Cook sausage while water boils.  Once sausage is cooked through, drain on paper towels to remove excess oil.

Cook pasta to al dente, then drain well.  Do not rinse with cold water.

To large bowl, add pasta, sausage, and a couple of cups of ricotta cheese.  Mix until ricotta has melted.

Pour your favorite jarred sauce into the cheese, pasta, and sausage mixture.

Combine well.  You can serve as is from here (you might want to nuke it a little or warm the sauce before you add to the mixture.  It might lukewarm here).

If you want to take the next step, pour the sauce-ified mixture into a glass baking dish and cover with mozzarella cheese.

  

Broil until cheese is brown and bubbly.  Serve immediately.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

