Chicken Creole Soup

Today is very much a soup day.  It’s once again freezing outside.  Something warm and a little spicy sounded perfect.

My mom (or my sister, can’t remember) gave me one of those supermarket checkout books from Betty Crocker that’s about a million years old.  It focuses entirely on soups, stews, chilis, and crockpot offerings.  This is the one I make most frequently.  It’s a hearty soup that I think actually tastes better as a leftover.  The rice that you add to the soup thickens it up considerably the next day.  If you prefer it more soup-like for a leftover, thin it out with a little extra chicken broth.

Chicken Creole Soup

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2.5 lbs skinless boneless chicken breasts or thighs cut into 1 in. pieces (I used breasts this time.  If you use thighs, go easy on the butter.)
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 tsp garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup uncooked rice
  • 2 cups water

Melt 2 tbsp butter over medium high heat.  Add chicken, onions, celery, pepper, and garlic and cook until onions are softened and chicken is no longer pink in the center, around 7-9 minutes, stirring frequently.

  

Add flour and cook until flour is golden brown, approx. 5-7 minutes, stirring constantly.

Add broth, tomatoes, bay leaves, salt & pepper, and cayenne.  Stir.  Heat until boiling, cover, reduce heat to medium low and cook an additional 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While soup simmers, cook rice and water according to package directions.  Once rice is finished, stir into soup.  Serves 8.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

