Butterscotch Blondies

Growing up in my house there were two kinds of dessert (mostly): chocolate and pie.  If it could be both, that was even more awesome.  Anything else was pretty much unthinkable, per my dad.  Which is why I think he might be slightly appalled I introduced his grandson to non-chocolate “brownies”.  Rest assured, Daddy, he still wants chocolate cookies, too.

My mom gave me a huge cookie recipe book just before Christmas and I saw this recipe in there.  True story, I have never made these before.  I’ve never eaten these before.  See above regarding chocolate and desserts.

Thomas likes to use the mixer, so this was a team effort between the two of us (with a necessary assist from Steve).

What surprised me about this recipe was how thick the dough was.  I assumed, because they were bars, that it would be like brownie batter.  Not so much.  This was like actual cookie dough and spreading it in the pan was kind of a pain until I started using the back of a wooden spoon instead of a flexible spatula.

Butterscotch Blondies

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup (stick and a half) unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 10 0z bag butterscotch chips (or, in this case 11 oz because that’s what I bought)
  • chopped nuts (optional)

I asked Thomas if he wanted nuts in his cookies and he said, very firmly, “No nuts, Mummy.”  Another way he’s like his beloved Buppa.

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 13 x 9 x 2 baking pan.

Stir together flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl.

Beat sugars and butter together until light.

Add eggs one at a time.  (Not easy to do while you’re holding a squirming two year old who wants to turn the mixer on and off).  When well combined, add the flour in slowly until well combined.

 

Once dough is mixed, stir in butterscotch chips (and nuts if using).

   

Spread into greased pan.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the thickest part comes out clean.  Cool completely on a wire rack before slicing.  The recipe says this makes 36 bars, but I think that’s only if you cut them tiny.  Please.  No one in this house will cut those bars that tiny.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

