Garlic Parmesan Oven Fries (+ a bonus veggie)

Apparently, the Today Show does some sort of Home Chef competition.  I’m usually on my way to work before the Today Show even starts, so I’m not sure what this contest was. 

I saw this recipe on the website and thought it looked delicious.  However, the recipe as published was missing one of the main ingredients: the parmesan cheese.  I suspect it also missed a step or two in the process as well.

I adapted the recipe, made some changes, and took note of further changes I’m going to make next time I make these.  And I am going to make these again.  Yummy.

Also, I apologize for the lack of photographic documentation.  It was one of those nights where Thomas ended up eating dinner underneath the kitchen table and I ended up sitting there with him.

Garlic Parmesan Oven Fries

  • 2 lbs russet potatoes
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp + 1/4 cup canola oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • Parmesan cheese to taste
  • garlic salt to taste

Preheat oven to 400.

Cut potatoes into wedges. (Note: I don’t feel like mine were crispy enough, so I will probably cut my wedges smaller next time.)  I left the skins on.  In a large bowl, soak the potato wedges for 10 minutes in hot tap water.  Dry on paper towels.

Whisk together 2 tbsp canola oil, 1 tbsp garlic, 2 tsp dijon mustard and salt & pepper to taste.  Add potatoes to mixture and toss to coat.  Transfer to a rimmed baking sheet in a single layer.  Pour remaining 1/4 cup of oil over the potatoes.  Cover with foil and bake for 7 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for another 15 minutes.  Turn potatoes and bake another 7 minutes.

Once out of the oven, toss hot fries with with garlic salt and parmesan cheese to taste.  If necessary, drain potatoes on paper towels to remove excess oil.

These came out really good.  Things I will probably do differently next time:

  1. Roast longer.  These just weren’t as crispy as I wanted
  2. Add fresh parsley to the garlic/mustard mixture
  3. More salt.

That being said, the potatoes were probably the best part of the meal because I was sitting under the kitchen table while they were in the oven and neglected the hamburgers I’d made to go with the potatoes.  They were like hockey pucks.  Not everything can be a winner, I suppose.

We also had cooked carrots with this.  This is actually Thomas’ favorite vegetable and we will sometimes make these carrots every day of the week if it means he actually eats a vegetable.  For a kid whose favorite color is green, I can’t get him to eat a green vegetable to save my life.

Thomas’ Carrots

  • 8-10 carrots, peeled and sliced into disks
  • orange juice (maybe 1/3 cup)
  • 1-2 tbsps brown sugar
  • ground or fresh ginger (optional)

Boil carrots until tender.  Drain carrots and return to pot.  Add orange juice.  You don’t want the orange juice to cover the carrots.  It’s like adding milk to cereal; just enough so you can see the juice but not so much you can’t see the carrots.  Add brown sugar.  Stir.  Serve to the cranky two year old who insists on eating his dinner under the kitchen table.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Sides, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

