Honey Mustard Chicken Tenders

This is one of those made up recipes where I never measure anything.  So it comes out a little different each time I make it.  But I haven’t completely screwed it up yet with my not-measuring antics, so I’m pretty confident that even though I don’t measure I’m at least consistent with how I combine these ingredients.

Buying chicken tenders is, in my opinion, a waste of time.  The grocery store always charges more for the convenience of cutting them up.  If I’m in a rush on a weeknight and I haven’t figured out dinner for my son Thomas, I’ll run into the store and grab a pack of tenders, but other than that I defrost a package of chicken breasts and cut them into my strips myself.  If I’m super organized, I’ll do that on a weekend so I can cook Thomas’ chicken ahead of time and not have to rush.

My son does have separate meals from us when I’ve made something he won’t eat.  I’m not going to get into a debate about picky eaters being created and not born, but it’s easier for me to let him eat healthy things like chicken, sweet potatoes, carrots, pasta, turkey burgers, potatoes, and squash than argue with him about eating the shepards’s pie or the veggie stir fry I made.  This is a meal he’ll try a few bites of and then decide if he wants more.  If he does, hurray.  If he doesn’t, mashed potatoes and chicken nuggets it is.

Sorry for the tangent!

I buy my chicken in bulk from BJ’s, so it comes two pieces of chicken to a pouch.  For this meal, I used two pouches (I forgot my sister wasn’t coming home for dinner tonight).  But the leftovers are great over salad or, in tomorrow’s case, the leftover brown rice I have from the other night.

Keep in mind the recipe below is based on four chicken breasts.  You can certainly reduce the amount of the marinade for a smaller amount of chicken.

If you’re afraid the marinade will be too mustardy or too strong, add the mustards in 2 tbsp increments until you get the flavor and consistency you want.  You want the honey to be proportional, so add the honey as you go as well and taste.  This is one of those recipes that’s more about your palate.

Honey Mustard Chicken Tenders

  • 1.25 lbs chicken breasts cut into strips (or chicken tenders)
  • paprika
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/4 cup dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup spicy brown mustard
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • dash of hot sauce
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic (optional), grated or minced fine
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • dash of garlic salt

 

Cut chicken into strips and sprinkle with paprika, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

In medium mixing bowl, whisk together mustards, honey, vinegar, oil, hot sauce, garlic, and salt & pepper.  Taste as you go along.  I usually end up adding more honey and a splash more vinegar as I whisk.

 

There are two ways you can apply the panko crumbs.  You can use regular bread crumbs if you don’t have panko, but I find the panko to have a much more satisfying texture here and it holds up really well with the marinade.

The first way is to put the panko crumbs in a shallow dish with a couple sprinkles of garlic salt.  Dip the chicken into the marinade, roll into the panko, and place into a glass baking dish coated with cooking spray.

The second way is to dip the chicken in the marinade and sprinkle the panko on top of the chicken once it’s in the glass baking dish.

If you have leftover marinade, drizzle some on top of the panko before it goes into the oven.

Bake in a 350 oven for 30 minutes.

You can serve with this pretty much anything.  I’ve done fries, garlic rice, broccoli, potatoes, anything.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in chicken, Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

