Butternut Squash Soup

My parents gave me an immersion blender for Christmas.  Which was completely awesome.  Yes, we’re nerdy that way.  The first thing I asked my mom for was the recipes for her potato leek soup and her butternut squash soup.

Yesterday was not a super fun day.  My husband Steve has a wicked cold and my two year old hadn’t taken a nap all weekend.  I wanted something easy and fast for dinner, but I also wanted something nourishing and warm.  Soup seemed like a good idea.

This is an easy recipe with minimal prep.  The only ingredient you may not have on hand is the squash, but frozen veggies are relatively inexpensive and you don’t even have to thaw the squash before you throw it in the pot.

My mom makes hers with chicken stock; to stay vegetarian on this, I made it with vegetable stock.  While the soup was amazing (velvety, smooth, and extremely filling), I wasn’t one hundred percent satisfied.  Next time I make this, I’ll use different potatoes and try it with chicken stock.

Butternut Squash Soup

  • 2 1 lb, 4 oz bags frozen butternut squash (no need to thaw)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 large potatoes.  I used Yukon Gold; next time I’ll use russet
  • 1 32 oz box vegetable or chicken stock or broth
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • butter

 

In a large soup pot, melt a couple tablespoons of butter of medium high heat.  Add the chopped onions and saute until soft and translucent.  Do not brown.

I didn’t cut my potatoes small enough, so cut them smaller than this:

Add frozen quash, stock, and paprika.  Let simmer, covered, until tender.

If you’re using an immersion blender, turn off the heat before you put the stick in.  You can do this in a regular blender or food processor by ladling it in a cup at a time and blending.  But remember to VENT the top or you will have soup all over your ceiling.

  Pre immersion blender

 

  Post Immersion blender

You should blend the soup until its a smooth, creamy consistency.  You do NOT need to add any milk or cream.  If the soup is a bit thick for your taste, thin out with broth or milk.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

I had this as a leftover for lunch today.  I added a couple tortilla strips after it had been heated up.  It certainly didn’t need it, but I appreciated the crunch.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

