Welcome!

Welcome to Kristin’s Kitchen blog.

I set this up because I love to cook, which surprises me more than anyone else because I am in no other way, shape, or form domestic.  But there’s something about cooking that relaxes me.  Even when there’s a million things to finish and the kitchen’s a mess and I think that nothing is going to be done at the same time and I’m never going to get dinner on the table, I’m enjoying myself.  It’s a chance to do something nice for my family, a way to show them how much I love them.

Not every meal I make is a masterpiece and not everything I serve my family is healthy (I wish).  I have a toddler who’s favorite dinner is macaroni and cheese that comes from a box.  While it grosses me out, he loves it.  But nothing makes me happier than putting a plate of homemade food in front of him and watching him devour it.  Sometimes, I even get a spontaneous thank you for it!

Some of the recipes you’ll see here are family recipes handed down from my mom.  Some I got from Cooking Light or Everyday Food or even Rachael Ray (I’ll give credit where it’s due).  And some recipes are things I’ve made up as I go along that became family favorites somewhere along the way.

I’m not a food snob.  You won’t find black truffle oil and creme de ooh-la-la on here.  These are real recipes that I use during the week and on the weekends.  Of course, I make special meals, but I don’t spend a fortune to make them.

One of my best tips for cooking is all about the prep work.  Every week, before I even go to the grocery store, I sit down to see what’s still in my pantry and refrigerator.  I consult my husband about his needs for the week.  I think about the nights I know I’m going to be too wiped to cook (honestly, Friday nights are usually a free for all.  Or pizza).  I plan a menu accordingly and the only things that go on my shopping list are the things I need to make that menu.  It’s a huge time and money saver at the store.

Some of the recipes you’ll see here are tried and true favorites and some will be brand new.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

About Kristin

I never thought I would love to cook. I did everything I could to avoid learning to cook. But somewhere along the line, cooking became less of a chore and more of a way to relax and be creative. Not everything I make is a smashing success, but I've had more successes than failures. After months of trading recipes with my friends through Facebook and email, I've decided to collect all my favorites here and also document my attempts at new adventures in cooking, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

